If you have been looking for an answer to this question for a while now, you can just check it out here. The legal age for driving a moped is different from country to country, and, while some may require you to have an exclusive license, others don’t ask for such a thing at all.
Knowing the legislation in your area will tell you exactly how old you need to be to ride a moped without breaking the law. Pay attention to other aspects, such as whether you need to apply for a license or not, as well as to safety issues.
Different countries, different laws
As already implied earlier, you must be aware of what the legislation says in your country or state if you don’t want to find yourself on the wrong side of the law. First, here is some information that applies to riding mopeds in the US.
In the US, state legislation dictates
Overall, if you’re looking at different states and their regulations, you will discover that, for most of them, the minimum age requirement for this type of vehicle is 14-16 years old. However, there are always exceptions to the rule, so you can only be safe if you are well aware of them.
From Alabama to Hawaii
In Alabama, the minimum age is 14, and a license is required. However, the list of safety equipment is quite long, so make sure to read the recommendations carefully before starting to ride a moped on public roads. In Alaska, the age stays the same, and helmets are not optional.
However, in Arizona, people who ride mopeds should be at least 16. A driver’s license is necessary, and the list of safety equipment required is as long as listed in the Alabama legislation for riding a moped.
If you like in Arkansas, there are only a few requirements regarding safety, while in California, you can even ride a moped without a driver’s license, provided that your vehicle can’t top 20mph. Colorado inhabitants must be at least 16 to ride a moped, and their vehicles must be registered.
Delaware has quite a sizeable chunk of legislation addressing the use of mopeds. What you must remember that 16 is the minimum age allowed and that you’re not allowed to ride on interstate roads. District of Columbia requires a visible headlamp from 200-300 feet, and the age of approval is 16, as well.
In Florida, you can ride a moped even if you’re under 16, as long as you wear the required headgear. In case you live in Georgia, the age required is 15, but you need a license for riding one on public roads. Hawaii has a bit more restrictive requirements, and public road use of a moped is only allowed for 18-year-olds with a valid driver’s license.
From Idaho to Maryland
Little legislation is available for Idaho, where the limitations refer to the maximum engine capacity for a moped to be 50cc. In Illinois, however, you must be aware that you should have the proper safety gear in place. In Indiana, you must be at least 15 years old, but only for riding vehicles that are less powerful than 50cc. Also, until you turn 18, you should wear the proper protective gear.
Iowa has a bit of complex legislation, too, when it comes to mopeds. While it is allowed to ride a moped here once you turn 14, you will need to take a special course that will educate you on how to use such a vehicle on public roads.
An exclusive license for motorized bicycles is needed in Kansas, and the minimum age requirement is 15. Also, you must remember that the maximum speed can’t exceed 35mph, and you need to be dressed accordingly so that you are visible to the other motorists.
In Kentucky, the only thing to remember is that you must be 16 to ride a moped on public roads. For Louisiana inhabitants, there are some requirements regarding taking a course on road safety. A regular driver’s license covers mopeds, too.
You can ride a moped on Maine public roads, but, if you’re under 18, you need to make sure that you wear a helmet and that you have other safety equipment, as required by the law. In Maryland, you need to be at least 16 years old, but you don’t need a driver’s license. However, you need to take a vision test and pay specific fees.
From Massachusetts to New Jersey
In Massachusetts, the legal age is 16, and if anyone rides with you, he or she must have proper headgear in place, just like you. Also, you need a standard driver’s license. Michigan has a bit stricter laws in the sense that any moped rider under 19 should wear a crash helmet. Otherwise, there is no need for insurance.
Minnesota requires proper registration and license plates for such vehicles. You will have to complete a special course and pass a test. Also, you need to be at least 15 years old if you want to ride such a means of transportation.
In Mississippi, mopeds are treated the same as motorcycles, so the same rules apply. Missouri just needs you to be 16 and have a valid driver’s license. Montana focuses most on how to be visible to other motorists to reduce the risk of accidents and offers a clear break down on what equipment is needed.
A driver’s license qualifies you for riding a moped in Nebraska, so the same age limit applies. Nevada is pretty lax in regards to mopeds, and you’re not even required to wear a helmet. However, you need to register your vehicle, so you will get some license plates with that, too.
It doesn’t matter where in the US you got your driver’s license, you can ride a moped in New Hampshire, provided that you pay attention to all the safety regulations in place. If you are in New Jersey and you want to ride a moped, you can be as young as 15 years old, but you will need a special license for motorized bicycles.
From New Mexico to Pennsylvania
Any driver’s license or special permit works for moped riders in New Mexico. In New York, mopeds are considered Class A motorcycles, and they have special legislation applied to their use. Therefore, you should be aware of the limitations referred to motorcycles here.
You won’t need a special permit or license in North Carolina, but you need to be at least 16 years old. North Dakota is a bit more permissible, in the sense that the minimum age is 14, but you’ll have to wear a crash helmet until you turn 18. 14-year-olds can ride a moped in Ohio, but they need to pass a special test.
Oklahoma is one of the states where the minimum age is related to the type of driver’s license corresponding to your vehicle. A Class C driver’s license is needed in Oregon, and you must be aware that you’re not allowed to carry other people on your vehicle.
In Pennsylvania, the minimum age for moped operation is 16. You must be aware of the long list of safety equipment needed here.
From Rhode Island to Wyoming
16 is the minimum age required for moped riding in Rhode Island. If you’re from out of state, you need to register your vehicle. In South Carolina, if you’re under 21, you’re not allowed to ride a moped without a helmet.
A restricted permit is available for 14-year-olds that take a special course in South Dakota. Tennessee has about the same regulations, as teenagers who are 14 can ride a moped if they so want. Texas will ask you to be a little older, as the age of approval for operating a moped is 15.
You can ride a moped in Utah, but if you’re under 18, be aware that headgear is required. Vermont has clear rules: you need a driver’s license and be at least 16 years old. Virginia limits access to public roads to people who are 16 or over.
The same age limitations apply in Washington. In West Virginia, you must be able to show a valid driver’s license, so the minimum age is 16. A special restricted permit is required in Wisconsin, for 14 to 18-year-olds, but you need to operate your moped only during daylight hours. Wyoming, the last on the list, doesn’t require registration for your moped but does ask for a driver’s license.
Leave a comment